Hooray it’s time for “gravlax” again ๐Ÿ˜‰

Tomorrow is Midsummer, and that means the alcohol store “Systembolaget” is packed with costumers today. Systembolaget is the only place you can buy beer, wine, hard liquor etc, in the grocery stores they sell beer and sometimes wine but only without or with very little alcohol. So the day before a holiday or celebration the place is filled to the rim. ๐Ÿท

Actually, the alcohol store is not the only crowded place today. The grocery stores are also pretty chaotic, people are parking everywhere outside and shopping like maniacs inside ๐Ÿ˜Š I haven’t even managed to muster the energy needed to do my grocery list yet. But soon I have no choice, the store will close at nine pm, and I (as well as all those others) have to get ready for tomorrow.

There are a few must haves when it comes to Midsummer food, lax (salmon) of all kinds is one of them. My favorite is either gravlax or cold smoked, can’t really decide and we always have both when we serve a buffet. I also like it when I get baked salmon (not with a crust, just fennel, carrots or something and a sauce).

Another important dish is pickled herring (on every holiday buffet), I  think the two most common flavores are onion and mustard. My two favorites are one with lemon and horseradish and one with dill and anchovies. The herring is served with potatoes (preferably this years early harvest), egg halves and maybe a sour cream sauce with chives.

Well I better get started on my list if I’m going to get som food tomorrow ๐Ÿ˜Š

 And I have to get some more strawberries, that’s mandatory summer food!!! 

Leave a Reply

